top of page
Search

Does God Pick Presidents?

God picked Saul as the first king of Israel.

It was a punishment for Israel.

They should have been satisfied with their theocracy. But, no. They demanded a king like every other nation had. So, God gave them a king LIKE EVERY OTHER NATION HAD.

Oppressive. Selfish. Evil.

So, He gave them the leader they deserved.

How about America?

If He lived in the flesh today as a US citizen, would Jesus vote in an election?

If so, for which presidential candidate would He cast His ballot?

For sure, we have no doubt that when we vote we had better consider the moral (or immoral) principles of the candidate.

But what about reality? Every candidate is flawed. When is the last time we had a morally respectable candidate?

So, we look to platforms, policies, associates, track records, and enemies. Or, at least, that’s what I look to.

In the last election, I voted for our current president.

I honestly did not decide until I was literally standing in the voting booth.

He has his flaws. Pride and a rather loose tongue stand out. His life as a whole certainly has many questionable chapters. But, for me, he is the lesser of the evil options. The contrast is immeasurable.

So, my question is this. Will God deliver us from evil or lead us into temptation. Us, as a nation.


Do we deserve Joe Biden?

I cringe.

His wickedness is only outpaced by his incompetence. No, I’m no expert on his track record or the specifics of his agenda. If he has one.

But I don’t have to be.

I see who his supporters are. That’s enough for me.


And, I see who President Trump’s enemies are. That also is enough for me.

If the enemies of a man are godless secularist, homosexuals, abortionist, marxist, anarchist, foulmouthed brats, and liberal pundits - then, I like him.

Still, our hope is not in a political party. Our hope is not in a particular politician.

Israel’s hope was not Saul. It was not David either. It was not Samuel. Their only hope was God. They rejected Him, so nothing else mattered.

Blessed is nation whose God is the Lord (Psalm 33:12).


The wicked will be turned into hell, and every nation who forget God (Psalm 9:17).

The hope of the world is Jesus. The only hope for America is repentance and submission to the gospel of Jesus Christ. And, that will never happen if the church is not faithful.

Fix the economy. Cure coronavirus. End racism.

You’ve done nothing.

Those are symptoms. The disease is rebellion. The cancer in America is described clearly in Romans 1:21-22, “When they knew God, they glorified Him not as God, neither were thankful; but became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened. Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools…”

And Romans 1:18 describes our prognosis: “The wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who (in unrighteousness) suppress the truth.”

You want to do something patriotic? Repent.

Abandon the idol of materialism. Hate pride in the mirror. Be filled with compassion. Be generous and honest. Be holy and honor Christ. Declare the gospel and live in a way that makes your message believable.

Of course, also pray that God will give us leaders who honor Him. Pray that our current leaders will honor God. Pray that God will make them wise. And humble. Pray for President Trump. Pray that God will protect Him.

When the righteous are in authority, the people rejoice: but when the wicked rule, the people mourn (Proverbs 29:2).

I pray that on November 4th we will have another reason to rejoice.


I say “another” because I already have a reason to rejoice.

I’m a citizen of heaven. Jesus is my King. HE is my righteous authority. He knows my name.


I’m happy.



66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page