top of page
Search

If It Never Gets Better

When I grow up, I'm going to have stuff.


I'm going to be big.


I'll get to to do whatever I want to do.


I can eat ice cream any time I want to. As much as I want.


But...


I grew up.


"Stuff" didn't turn out to be all that. Most of it just get's in the way or demands lots of attention.


There is always someone bigger.


And, the things I want to do are not what I thought they would be.


Of course, I do eat too much ice cream. But even that has a price.


You may have heard it said, "Don't wish your life away."


Seriously. First graders think 4th graders are the kings of the world. Then it's those middle schoolers; those high schoolers; those college kids; those graduates; those married folk; those couples with kids; those whose kids are grown...


We can enjoy each stage of life. We can appreciate the glories and endure the burdens. But if we keep imagining that at some point we will reach that magic spot where life will get easy, we are deluded.


So, what if it never gets better?


What will you do? What will I do?


Life ebbs and flows.


Do right.


Overall, life's not getting better.


If riches increase, don't get attached to them.


If poverty reigns. Be grateful for the little things.


If you recover from an awful illness, death is still imminent.


Just do right.


Ultimately, things will not get better in this world. The Bible says it plainly. Evil men and seducers will wax worse and worse, deceiving and being deceived. We know that everything is winding down to a critical moment of destruction.


What if COVID is as permanent as influenza?


What if ethnic tension never ceases?


What if America never turns to God?


Better invest in eternity. Live with heaven's values in view.


Don't wait until things get better to get busy. Get busy today. Redeem the time; the days are evil.





147 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page